PDA

View Full Version : Mod chips soon to arrive - Will it hurt xbox?

obsidian
05-09-2002, 06:36 AM
Take a look at this, sounds like mod chips will soon be available for the xbox :

http://www.madgamers.net/news/view.php?id=614

Do you reckon this will hurt Microsoft as it heavily relies on software profits?

Will it increase Hardware sales?

I think the main people who will suffer will be the developers themselves.

Whisper
05-09-2002, 06:47 AM
well game rentals will go up :) :(

dougi3000
05-09-2002, 08:27 AM
it will "hurt" it as much as how PS2 & PSX "hurt"

:D

DOOM
05-09-2002, 09:07 AM
GAME PIRATES & BOOTLEGGERS SUCK AZZZ!!! :mad:

Radar
05-09-2002, 09:14 AM
I personally will believe it when I see they're available. I think its a load of BS personally...

Plus I wouldn't want to pirate games anyway since I'm a developer and know how hard it is to put together a quality game...

Kraft
05-09-2002, 09:17 AM
I can't wait to see how many people trash their xbox with the soldering iron while trying to add their mod chip. And it doesn't even look like its going to be a chip, per se. ProjectX is connected to like 29 different random points, what a mess. Anyways, while everyone else is burning their circuit boards with a hot piece of metal rendering their xbox usless, I will be taking me fully liscenced game out of its beautiful green box and playing some awesome games :)

LynxFX
05-09-2002, 03:27 PM
Do you reckon this will hurt Microsoft as it heavily relies on software profits?
No

Will it increase Hardware sales?

Not much.

DZNUTZ
05-09-2002, 03:33 PM
DZNUTZ OPINION = SEE WHAT DOOM AND KraftSLU said

i dont' know much about this chit...but couldn't MS find out how they hacked it to make the "chip" and then impliment some new code or thingymagig that all their newer titles have to have encoded on them to counteract the pirating?

LynxFX
05-09-2002, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by DZNUTZ
DZNUTZ OPINION = SEE WHAT DOOM AND KraftSLU said