PDA

View Full Version : ZDNet Article

SkoalMint
06-04-2002, 09:15 PM
Interesting read. Link (http://www.zdnet.com/anchordesk/stories/story/0%2C10738%2C2869020%2C00.html)

-----------------------------
How Nintendo, Sony can avoid being killed by MS
David Coursey,
Executive Editor, AnchorDesk
Tuesday, June 4, 2002

I have a cautionary tale for the leaders of the video game industry. It's intended as a warning against overestimating the competitors you know and underestimating the competitor you don't--specifically, Microsoft.

The tale I have in mind is the story of WordPerfect and Lotus. Those two software makers went from major desktop contenders to major has-beens--largely because they concentrated their firepower on each other, instead of practicing what Novell's Ray Noorda called "coopetition" and battling their mutual enemy.

NOW, I ADMIT I'm no great expert on video games or their industry. I've never owned a game console and have neither the attention span nor the fast-twitch muscles to be a really good gamer. I also don't like killing people, even if they're animated, or pretending to live in any time other than the present.

But I do remember a day, back in the early to late 1980s, when Microsoft's Excel and Word were third-rate apps; as I recall, Word did odd things like hiding the spell checker in something called the "gallery." Excel was likewise behind the curve. Both had relatively small market shares, and neither Lotus nor WordPerfect paid them much attention.

At that time, Lotus and WordPerfect were to spreadsheets and word processors respectively what Microsoft is now. Each company used proprietary file formats and exclusive features to lock-in their customers. Distinctive user interfaces were used to further bind customers to their program of choice.