PDA

View Full Version : I want to hook my XBox up to the internet, would this work?



joenofb
06-06-2002, 03:57 AM
ethernet Hub (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00000J4M9/qid=1023353329/sr=1-2/ref=s_pc_/103-0441566-8269439)
would this work? i have a cable modem and i want to hook my XBox to it as well as my pc. Thanks. NOFB

Piccolo_DBz
06-06-2002, 04:23 AM
Uh no and why? You can't surf the web on the xbox. But if your doing it to play system link games online get a router

joenofb
06-06-2002, 04:33 AM
I'm not looking to surf the internet with it, i want to play halo on it. a router will work better? will a hub do me any good at all?

Piccolo_DBz
06-06-2002, 05:07 AM
Not really, A Hub is more for hooking up pcs together in a local area, like a LAN party. A router is use to share your ISP with different pcs or xbox.

BCan
06-06-2002, 05:09 AM
Yeah, a hub is usually enouh, but a switch is better, and a router is overkill.

Just need to connect the XBOX to the hub, the cable modem to the hub and the PC as well, then use something like xbconnect or gamespy to get it to find other XBOX's

Be aware of what ports need to be opened if you have a firewall on your PC to get your XBOX able to communicate..

UltimateAg
06-06-2002, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by joenofb
ethernet Hub (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00000J4M9/qid=1023353329/sr=1-2/ref=s_pc_/103-0441566-8269439)
would this work? i have a cable modem and i want to hook my XBox to it as well as my pc. Thanks. NOFB

Yes it will work. I currently have my xbox and pc setup this way with my cable modem as well. So yes it will work. Router is definite overkill, switch would be ideal, hub will work fine. I had an extra hub laying around so I didn't have to spend any extra $$.

joenofb
06-06-2002, 01:11 PM
Thanks, I'm gonna go get a switch and play halo online, thanks for the help.