PDA

View Full Version : Halo on lan!!!



Markus_Kalarkus
08-24-2002, 08:16 PM
Im getting a switch tommorow so ill se ya'll on xbconnect:) (i can hardly wait...:eek: )

Zion
08-24-2002, 08:29 PM
A ROUTER with a switch I hope...

anarky
08-24-2002, 10:31 PM
Sweet ive already got a rouder, thank god for em.

BTW- love the sig markus

Markus_Kalarkus
08-24-2002, 10:38 PM
thnx, made it myself.:cool:

Markus_Kalarkus
08-24-2002, 11:17 PM
btw my name will be Markus_Kalarkus:rolleyes:

jschelm
08-25-2002, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by Zion
A ROUTER with a switch I hope...

Why a router? Before I left school I played all sorts of online games via Gamespy and then XBC and I never had a router.

Markus_Kalarkus
08-25-2002, 04:00 PM
hey i got my cords (cat 5 ) ones todaY but i have to get my switch tommorow:( :( :( thats another whole day of waiting:(

Markus_Kalarkus
08-28-2002, 03:14 PM
A D-Link switch is what i am getting tamaraw:)

dances with broom sticks
08-28-2002, 03:26 PM
i found its cheaper to buy a big cat5 cable and cut it and make it into smaller stright and crossover yourself

jschelm
08-28-2002, 03:32 PM
You can buy bulk cat-5 cabling for $.06 a foot. That works well to make any and all types of patch cables.

Zion
08-28-2002, 03:43 PM
Originally posted by jschelm


Why a router? Before I left school I played all sorts of online games via Gamespy and then XBC and I never had a router.


Oh you had a router, you just didn't have access to it.

jschelm
08-28-2002, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by Zion



Oh you had a router, you just didn't have access to it.

I realize that at some point in the loop there probably was a router, however, I still don't understand why you say he has to have one.

Toder
08-28-2002, 05:01 PM
you don't need no stinkin router to play xbox online with programs like gamespy and xbconnect all you need is a cheap hub. Before i got a cable modem I went over to my friends house and hooked up my xbox to his cable with a cheap $30 ethernet hub and it worked great.

jschelm
08-28-2002, 05:04 PM
That is what I thought, but I couldn't get an answer as to why a router is necessary.

Spaztic
08-28-2002, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by Zion
A ROUTER with a switch I hope...

Why do you keep suggesting a router, why waste the extra money!....I have a $4.99 switch and it works great!

Toder
08-28-2002, 05:19 PM
Originally posted by jschelm
That is what I thought, but I couldn't get an answer as to why a router is necessary.

Its not necessary jschelm. In fact its even more complicated to hook up your xbox to a router. you have to change the ports you are using to like 8064 if you want to even think about playing xbconnect. but you can join games with gamespy but to host a game you have to change the port just like xboxconnect.