PDA

View Full Version : Need help on HD TV and XBOX

netranger6
09-04-2002, 06:56 PM
Ok, I bought a 46'' Philips HD Projection, and it supports 480I/P and 1080/i/p. Here's the question, should I run out and get the High Definition AV pack now, or just keep using S-Video? I mean, if the game is not in High Def, will it still play if plugged into one of the High Def ports on the set? Bear with me, I'm new to the High Def. area. Any input would be great!!

JimmieDoogan
09-04-2002, 07:00 PM
If you read the warning on the inside cover of most of the Xbox games manual's you'll notice a little quip about "You should play Xbox on a projection TV". Why in GODS NAME did you get a projection TV? HD OF ALL THINGS!!!!!!!!!!!! You should have gotten a solid state HDTV, like my buddy did. Anyway, if you want to see games at 480p, then you MUST buy the HD pack. Other wise your stuck with normal resolutions... plain and simple. If you don't have the HDTV pack, your not seeing HD resolutions.

LynxFX
09-04-2002, 07:01 PM
Get the Hidef pack. All Xbox games (with the exception of Agent Under Fire) are 480p games so you will benefit greatly from switching to component inputs.

For everything else, your tv will either convert it to 480p with its internal line doubler or just display it at 480i.

Enjoy a new world of gaming!! :)

LynxFX
09-04-2002, 07:03 PM
And don't worry about what JimmieDoogan said about all the warnings. If you take precautions you will never have a problem. Calibrate your tv and you will be fine. Never leave any still images on it, this goes for watching normal tv as well, and keep the contrast below 50%.

Zion
09-04-2002, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by JimmieDoogan