PDA

View Full Version : HDTV 1080i support



Tla536
11-30-2001, 04:45 PM
Does anybody know of any new games coming out that support 16:9 in 1080i?

SACK
11-30-2001, 05:38 PM
So the games need to support the resolution?

If that is the case I guess that is why my DOA3 keeps displaying incorrectly when I try widescreen mode.

Jason1010
11-30-2001, 06:00 PM
all the games support it just fine... and btw i have doa3 and it works just fine on 16:9 1080i for me

Haine
11-30-2001, 06:16 PM
Do3 doesnt support 1080i sorry,unless you have a quadrupler hooked up to your system.All the games support 480p cause that is the native nature of dvd(thats how they are coded in 480p).Also they have to support the 16:9 ratio,Wich Do3 does not.Sure it will run in the 16:9 ratio but it blows the screen up to fill it..

Slider1981
11-30-2001, 06:19 PM
The nature of DVD's do not matter. The xbox supports any width of the screen. Get out you Xbox for Dummies book and check: Xbox supports wide screen. So does DOA3

LynxFX
11-30-2001, 06:32 PM
Haine,

You are right on everything except that DOA3 doesn't support 16x9. It does.

Slider1981,

Because the Xbox supports widescreen doesn't mean that the games are made for widescreen. There are alot of titles that are only 4:3 and not 16x9.

Hell even the Dreamcast supports widescreen and 16x9 and so did alot of its games.

Haine
11-30-2001, 06:34 PM
Yes it does matter,And the games has to be made to support the 16:9 ratio.If you would have read my post properly,I didnt say the nature of the dvd makes the ratio.I was stating that all games will run in 480p cause that is the nature of the dvd.Like i said it will run in 16:9 ratio,but the image isnt displayed properly if the game isnt made to run in 16:9.Look in a,I believe its a EGm mag and in the previews it tells you if it is widscreen or standard or both.....

Haine
11-30-2001, 06:37 PM
Lynxfx,I have a widescreen and i have 2 other friends with widscreens and the Do3 doesnt display properly its cut off on the right and top of the image,Due to the fact it blows the picture.Cause it isnt widescreen...

LynxFX
11-30-2001, 07:06 PM
Haines,

I have a widescreen setup as well. YES it does properly support a widescreen aspect ratio of 1.78:1. If it isn't showing up right on your setup you might have your tv setup wrong. On mine I'm not losing any picture. No croping or distorted scaling or stretching. Make sure your tv isn't zoomed in or taking a 16x9 signal and thinking it is 4:3 or vise versa. Also your tv might crop off more overscan than another tv. This is common as well.

My projector doesn't crop off any overscan so I always get the entire image although my screen masking usually will take care of any unwanted overscan.

But I guarantee that DOA3 is a 16x9 title.

SACK
12-03-2001, 06:05 AM
If DOA3 is a 16x9 title then why does HALO, NHL Hitz and AMPED display in a higher res and doa3 does not???? I don't think this has anything to do with my tv or xbox setup.

Hugh_Jass
12-03-2001, 01:50 PM
Widescreen is not the same as high-resolution, folks.

You can have a 16x9 aspect ratio at 480, 720, and 1080.

SACK
12-03-2001, 01:54 PM
OK then,

Are there any white papers or sites that have all this HDTV info?

All I know in the video settings for the xbox it only asks us what our tv supports. Then I assume we set the picture type via letterbox or widescreen right? Tell me more tell me more. What exactly determines what resolution the picture is displayed in? Does the game (if it supports HDTV) choose the best highest resolution available???

This just seems like a gray area in the manual.

LynxFX
12-03-2001, 05:30 PM
Yes as Hugh_Jass said, ratio and res are two different things.

In the video settings of the xbox where it asks if your tv supports 480p 720p and 1080i it is asking just that. If it supports it. Right now ALL games are only 480p natively and that is as high as they support. You can add in a $600-$800 scaler or line doubler to up the res but I don't think that is worth it.

If your tv doesn't support 480p then the game will display in 480i which is an effective resolution of 640x240.

So to answer your question, the game determines what resolution it is displayed at (currently only 480p being the highest) and the xbox will tell the game if it supports it. If you have an HDTV and HD kit and you set the xbox to say that you do NOT support 480p then the game will display 480i. Once games come that do support 1080i or 720p then the game will look at the xbox settings and if you selected that you support those resolutions then it should display at it. If you said you do support it but in reality you don't then you will either get no image or a really messed up image. This is why the dashboard is locked at 480i. Everyone supports that and you can fix your problem from there.

The reason I know for a fact that DOA3 is a 16x9 title is that when I ran it through my pc in Dscaler it shows the resolution that it is receiving. In this case it was 720x480 which is a 16x9 ratio.

Hugh_Jass
12-03-2001, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by Lynxfx
You can add in a $600-$800 scaler or line doubler to up the res but I don't think that is worth it.

...but if you already HAVE a scaler it's definitely worth running the XBOX through it.

I don't know where you'd get a scaler for only $800 though. A doubler, yeah, but a scaler?

SACK
12-04-2001, 06:33 AM
Lynxfx,

Thanks for all the info! That really helped.

One question still remains... when you say 16x9 title what does that really mean? That it will display in widescreen but not a different resolution? The aspect ratios are what confuse me still.

Thanks again,
SACK

Jason1010
12-04-2001, 08:25 AM
i means that your characters wont look fat on a widescreen tv...

LynxFX
12-04-2001, 04:26 PM
Right, with 16x9 you gain horizonal resolution instead of just vertical. So you go from roughly 640x480 to 720x480. It is added information on the sides and formated to fit the HDTV standards of widescreen.

Hugh_Jass,

I was just throwing out numbers, never had to price a scaler so wasn't sure. :) Of course it is a whole different story when you already HAVE one of those. You wouldn't happen to have one would you? I'd be curious to hear what it looks like hooked up to your LT150.