PDA

View Full Version : System Link! Please help!



DarkMatter
03-21-2003, 03:58 PM
I'm going to have a friend over and we are going to play Halo and other games Via System Link. Do I have to use the link cable by Microsoft or can I use the Blue ethernet cord? Or can I hook them both to a router Via ethernet cord and play? Thanks alot.:)

Uchiha Sasuke
03-21-2003, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by DarkMatter
I'm going to have a friend over and we are going to play Halo and other games Via System Link. Do I have to use the link cable by Microsoft or can I use the Blue ethernet cord? Or can I hook them both to a router Via ethernet cord and play? Thanks alot.:)


Use a cross over ethernet cable for system to system.You need standard ethernet cable (patch cable?) for routers and hubs and such.

DarkMatter
03-21-2003, 05:14 PM
So if I have 2 Ethernet cables and a router/hub I can still play System Link?

MerimacHamwich
03-21-2003, 05:24 PM
Yes you can. That is actually the only way I play system link.

DarkMatter
03-21-2003, 07:12 PM
Sweeeeet:cool: Thanks alot you 2!

BCan
03-21-2003, 09:31 PM
General networking logic applies when connecting the XBOX, any time you are concerned, look for a PC network setup guide.

System Link cable is just MS's green coloured cross over CAT5 ethernet cable.

Always try to use a switch or hub, always allows for more and more friends to join in the fun.........