PDA

View Full Version : Importing games



Himji
06-04-2003, 04:52 AM
After reading the Yager thread, I assume that some people are importing the game from the UK??

If that's the case, what's the story on imports with the XBOX, I heard that the box is region coded so you can do that, are we talking about modded xboxes or am I wrong about the region coding??

I'd like to know because since the USA gets all the games first (BF isn't out till the end of this month here, over a month!!) It'd be nice to import some games every now and again

Himji
06-05-2003, 04:23 AM
Nobody knows about region coding on xbox games???

Rochey69r
06-05-2003, 05:01 AM
USA - region 1
UK - region 4
Australia - region 4
Japan - region 2 i think or 1

u need a mod chip to play other region games.

sojourner
06-05-2003, 07:21 AM
UK is region 2:D

Himji
06-05-2003, 10:53 AM
So they are region encoded :|

Oh well, I'l continue paying 50% more on games that are released 2 months late :|

Kraft
06-06-2003, 10:16 AM
Your only legal option is to buy a different Xbox from that country to play those games.

Knight
06-06-2003, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by Rochey69r
USA - region 1
UK - region 4
Australia - region 4
Japan - region 2 i think or 1

u need a mod chip to play other region games.

Japan is region 2.

Knight
06-06-2003, 11:24 AM
Here's a Regional map:

http://www.unik.no/~robert/hifi/dvd/world.gif

http://www.unik.no/~robert/hifi/dvd/world.html

Kraft
06-06-2003, 12:21 PM
That region map isn't making a whole lot of sense. Japanese and European Xbox's run on different regions I thought... or is it different encoding?

sojourner
06-06-2003, 01:52 PM
Japan is ntsc region 1 :D