PDA

View Full Version : Want to use 5.1



Himji
06-21-2003, 09:24 AM
Ok, I've got a 5.1 amp with a full surround setup and I wanna hook my box through it. I've seen a scart cable with an optical jack in the cable sos I can connect with my amp, is this the best way to do this or is there a better method, cost isn't too important, I've laready got a very good system and I don't wanna spoil it with inferior components.

tia

BCan
06-21-2003, 10:25 AM
it depends on what TV you have, but you at least need to get the Advanced AV pack, which has the optical output along with S-Video. Then you will need to also make a change in the system settings of the XBOX (ie Start it with no disc in) and make a change to the audio to Dolby Digital (Dolby Surround is pro-logic if I remember rightly).

chunk83
06-21-2003, 11:13 AM
Get the monster cables, they have much better optical and s-video/component cables.

Himji
06-21-2003, 05:58 PM
I got a standard wide screen TV. It's good but getting on a bit now (only 2 scart ports and no other connections worth mentioning). sos's svideo is out of the question, I'll check out the monster cables tho, anybody got a URL?

Arrix
06-21-2003, 05:59 PM
http://www.monstercable.com/monstergame/xbox/