PDA

View Full Version : xbox region free?



diranged
06-24-2003, 11:41 PM
hey i wanted to know if the xbox was region free. i just baught a region 2 dvd so im hoping it is. thanx :cheers:

canadianboi3
06-24-2003, 11:54 PM
Uhh, I think there are multiple regions. Sorry.

Ford Mustang
06-24-2003, 11:59 PM
To tell you the truth, I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about :)

diranged
06-25-2003, 12:06 AM
there are region codes on dvd players. so the dvd players in this country are region 1 and other countries have different regions. most of the dvd players here only play region 1. unless you get an all region or region free dvd player. hope i answered yur question ford_mustang :cheers:

Ford Mustang
06-25-2003, 12:13 AM
Yes, you did very well :hail:

Thanks alot for the info :D

TegSkywalker
06-25-2003, 01:50 AM
The US Xbox with a DVD Playback kit is Region 1 meaning it will only play movies made to be played in the United States.

There are other ways to make the Xbox region free, but I won't talk about that on this board.

diranged
06-25-2003, 02:17 AM
oh cool then can u email me or aim me TegSkywalker. thanx
:cheers: ill give u a pm wit my info

canadianboi3
06-25-2003, 02:50 AM
Just a warning, these "Ways" are illegal. Just incase it's against your morals or anything.

LynxFX
06-25-2003, 03:06 AM
Actually you can turn your US Xbox into a region 2,3,4 dvd player legally. The region coding doesn't get hard encoded until you plug in the dvd kit. So you can buy a Region 2 dvd playback kit and turn your xbox into a region 2 player. The only drawback is that once it has been encoded with a region, it will stay that way.

A better option would to buy this dvd player: Cyberhome 300 for $58 (http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=CTLG&category%5Fname=CTLG%5F002%5F002%5F003%5F000&product%5Fid=16%2D3274) from Radio Shack and you will have yourself a region free dvd player.

To make it region free just turn on unit, make sure no disc is in tray, push menu 1, 9, then a screen comes up. Third line from bottom is region #. enter # of what region you want to play, or just push 0 for all region.

It is a great player for the price and progressive scan to boot!

Knight
06-25-2003, 10:47 AM
Originally posted by Lynxfx-XBA
Actually you can turn your US Xbox into a region 2,3,4 dvd player legally. The region coding doesn't get hard encoded until you plug in the dvd kit. So you can buy a Region 2 dvd playback kit and turn your xbox into a region 2 player. The only drawback is that once it has been encoded with a region, it will stay that way.

A better option would to buy this dvd player: Cyberhome 300 for $58 (http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=CTLG&category%5Fname=CTLG%5F002%5F002%5F003%5F000&product%5Fid=16%2D3274) from Radio Shack and you will have yourself a region free dvd player.

To make it region free just turn on unit, make sure no disc is in tray, push menu 1, 9, then a screen comes up. Third line from bottom is region #. enter # of what region you want to play, or just push 0 for all region.

It is a great player for the price and progressive scan to boot!

But it got No Optical Digital Output and the Remote Control looks lame.

Knight
06-25-2003, 11:16 AM
http://www.radioshack.com/images/ProductCatalog/ProductImage/16/l16-3274.jpg

Here's the Philips Progressive-Scan DVD for $69.99 and it has a Optical Digital Output.

http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=11101890&m=1&cat=32&scat=244

Ford Mustang
06-25-2003, 12:59 PM
Knight, the point of the thread was to answer the question, not critique DVD players...But those 2 prices are really good.

And the remote looks fine, lol....

WHo cares if it's lame, as long as it does what it's supposed to?

lol j/k :cheers:

LynxFX
06-25-2003, 05:17 PM
Originally posted by Knight


But it got No Optical Digital Output and the Remote Control looks lame.
Knight, it has digital coax, so no need for optical. Plus the whole reason for that DVD player is because you can make it Region free very very very easily. :rolleyes:

Knight
06-25-2003, 06:16 PM
Originally posted by Lynxfx-XBA

Knight, it has digital coax, so no need for optical. Plus the whole reason for that DVD player is because you can make it Region free very very very easily. :rolleyes:

Doesn't Dobly Digital or DTS sound better when using optical?

LynxFX
06-25-2003, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by Knight


Doesn't Dobly Digital or DTS sound better when using optical?
Not at all. There is zero difference. Infact a lot of audiophiles prefer digital coax because you can have longer runs of it.

Knight
06-25-2003, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by Lynxfx-XBA

Not at all. There is zero difference. Infact a lot of audiophiles prefer digital coax because you can have longer runs of it.

And it's cheaper then a optical cable.

Arrakis44
06-25-2003, 08:30 PM
There is a leagal way to make the Box region free, visit
Region free kit for Xbox (http://shop.gameplay.co.uk/webstore/productpage.asp?productcode=XB0034)
This kit had been put back already though, so dont hold your breath!