PDA

View Full Version : Max Payne goes to court.

thrAsher
07-28-2003, 10:50 AM
Retired World Championship Wrestling professional Maxx Payne filed a $10 million lawsuit against a group of video software developers for allegedly stealing his personal to create the game "Max Payne." The lawsuit was filed last week in U.S. District Court against Rockstar Games Inc., 3D Realms Entertainment, Gathering of Developers and Remedy Entertainment Ltd...

More about this here (http://www.worthplaying.com/article.php?sid=11906&mode=thread&order=0).

Anybody ever hear of this guy?

LTM360
07-28-2003, 11:02 AM
How long has this game been out? Two years? And it took him this long to file a lawsuit? And the name is with only one 'X', I'm no lawyer (nor do I know that much about this stuff) but since the name is different he cannot win the case right?
And, no, I've never heard of him.

Ford Mustang
07-28-2003, 11:18 AM
This guy is a dumbass. How can anyone steal his name if nobody knows who the hell he is?

I hope he loses.

runninutes
07-28-2003, 11:22 AM
Originally posted by LTM360
And the name is with only one 'X', I'm no lawyer (nor do I know that much about this stuff) but since the name is different he cannot win the case right?

My understanding is that the addition (or subtraction) isn't enough to decide a case. The decision would be based on a few things - intent, ownership, and research. That is, was the intent to capitalize on his name and image? Does he own the name Maxx Payne? After all, his TM/copyright (not sure which applies) could have run out. And lastly, did the people who put out the game make a realistic effort to find out whether the name was owned/in use by anyone?

I've never heard of him either. I'd say that there's an extremely small chance of him winning this case - if nothing else, the fact that he waited this long can't help him.

goldberg
07-28-2003, 02:15 PM