PDA

View Full Version : Question to the graphically inclined...

kirkyg
01-02-2002, 03:25 PM
Ok i've noticed that on ssX tricky that the game has noticeable framerate drops on occasion. I also notice on the cut scenes before playing it studders. Its almost as if they left vsync off or something was not designed correctly in the game's engine. Just curious if any of you knowledgeable alot in the area of video card's output and animation/graphics production had any ideas why a game like this studders on a powerful machine...yet DOA3 which has the best graphics of any game i've ever seen has a solid ass framerate.

btw, i rented ssx tricky i thought it wasn't too fun at first but after i started playing it it really is pretty **** fun.

kirkyg

mattcoxonline
01-02-2002, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by kirkyg
...is pretty **** fun.

Sorry, don't know the answer. But this bit entertained me for about 3 seconds....

I was thinking of other words to go in here other than d*mn.
sh*t worked well, or maybe crap. Or for you Americans - darn...?!?!

Big Ben
01-02-2002, 04:40 PM
Originally posted by mattcoxonline

Or for you Americans - darn...?!?!

Actually, Americans would likely use the phrase "sh*t, yo" or "mutha f*ckah"

As for framerate problems, it's likely due to the slow loading time. Looking at PGR you see this when the cars load at the car select screen. I've read that the best way to improve (not fix) this problem is to replace the standard IDE cable in the Xbox with a ATA 133 compatible one. Of course, if you do this, you must open your Xbox, which voids any and all warrenties. Plus you'll need a size 10 star screwdriver and a small phillips head. Make sure the IDE cable you replace it with does NOT have the break because your Xbox will not work with the break.

I beleive you can find an article on it somewhere on some site, but I don't remember where and I didn't bookmark it, sorry.

-Big Ben

kirkyg
01-02-2002, 05:26 PM
it's likely due to the slow loading time.