PDA

View Full Version : No need to get up and turn off your xbox



Dark Enemy
01-17-2004, 01:14 PM
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/modtips/story/0,24330,3592673,00.html

Young_Fledgling
01-17-2004, 01:40 PM
way too much work and risk just for that.....

ScorpionX
01-17-2004, 01:50 PM
I have a soft reset button in my controller :cool:

J4320
01-17-2004, 01:51 PM
Is it that hard to get up and turn on your Xbox? People these days are so lazy!

Angell
01-17-2004, 02:01 PM
That would be awsome on the Xbox 2, I hope they include that... I dont think it would have been too difficult for MS to have a power button on the DVD remote... it only make sense. Oh well, Im not rippin my box and spending a healthy chunk of change to avoid walking 6 ft.

BunnyRabbit
01-17-2004, 03:14 PM
LMAO! Thats sort of funny.. But im not all that lazy. :p

BinaryXtreme
01-17-2004, 03:38 PM
Some sort of cool screensaver and powerdown would be great for the next XBOX.

DIGITAL
01-17-2004, 03:39 PM
or you can do what the use in jail to change the channel on the tv,they use rolled up newspapers with a pencial at the end ,to reach the button

Reclaimer
01-17-2004, 03:47 PM
That's pretty dumb if you think about it. You can't get off your lard ass to walk, or even crawl, or roll your fat body the length of your controller wire to turn it off.
You have some serious problems.
And besides, you have to remove a rumble motor to make that work. Forget it.

Ford Mustang
01-17-2004, 04:10 PM
Hm...Seems like alot of work and a waste of money just to not have to walk a max of 9 feet....:watchout:

Scapegoats
01-17-2004, 04:42 PM
Well, sure, you may say it's only 9 feet, but then what about if you have to turn it off and on more than once? Each and every time you do it, that's another 9 feet you need to move. I think that if I have to walk more than 27 feet in one day, that it validates the effort and risk of installing a power switch in my controller... But thankfully, I am blind, so I sit right in front of my TV, and therefore I don't even have to reach to press the button.

If they come up with a mod that lets me switch game discs without getting out of my seat, let me know.

Prior
01-17-2004, 04:58 PM
well i dont even need to get up because when i play my xbox i sit on the floor and if i sit on the couch i dont mind getting up.

CMX Jedi
01-17-2004, 06:20 PM
i sit about 3 feet from my xbox so i just push it with my foot

Justus
01-17-2004, 07:16 PM
Thats pretty cool, if I had the ability and money to carry that out I would.

I'm very lazy...

BoundBruiser
01-17-2004, 07:21 PM
Yeah, it shouldn't be too hard to get up and turn off or switch games. It could be good excersize for some of you.

Angell
01-17-2004, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by boundbruiser
Yeah, it shouldn't be too hard to get up and turn off or switch games. It could be good excersize for some of you.



I must exercise alot then.... I walk miles a week (walking to turn my xbox on/off)

dances with broom sticks
01-17-2004, 08:26 PM
My xbox has to be turned on and off numerous (around 10-20 minutes worth) to be able to play it, so I could see this being usefull just so i wouldnt have to stand to do it.

l Maximus l
01-17-2004, 08:48 PM
I say...get a Clapper :D

SnoochyBoochy
01-17-2004, 09:54 PM
yeah dude, if i'm watching a dvd and i fall asleep watching it, i dont want to have to crawl my ass outta bed to turn it off. or if i'm playing late at night and dont wanna get outta bed to turn it off before i go to sleep. werd.

MaxPain
01-17-2004, 10:39 PM
I have a 12 disc cd changer for my xbox.. so I don't have to change cds :cool:

themoosearmy
01-18-2004, 02:23 AM
Sounds a little hypocritic if you ask me. Too lazy to turn off the xbox yet ambitious enough to open the XBOX, a controller, etc. and mod it to have this ability. That sure is a lot of work for such a simple task.

Conchord
01-18-2004, 03:09 AM
All that trouble just so I dont have to walk 5 feet? Im lazy, not disabled.

Shadow20002
01-18-2004, 05:49 AM
Anyway, like watching movies or playing games, you need to get up to change the DVD each time.

Crazy Joe
01-19-2004, 02:46 PM
isn't there an option in the Dashboard for it to automatically turn off if inactive for a certain period, mine never works, has anyone had this work?

CMX Jedi
01-19-2004, 03:56 PM
why cant you set it for a certen time like an hour of 20 mins

DocHoliday78
01-19-2004, 06:11 PM
man, that is so much work to be lazy.

Conchord
01-19-2004, 06:13 PM
that car is insane dudeman. Ill stick with a porsche carrera GT....my uncle has one, and i shat myself when i saw it.