PDA

View Full Version : newbie here....questions about the x-box.....

speedyf
07-26-2001, 04:00 PM
Newbie here....Just getting caught up with all the info out there on the x-box. Excellent site you have here...btw.

As a PC gamer who really doesn't get into PS2 or Nintendo much, I'm a intrigued by the x-box. I enjoy playing pc games because of the ability to play multi-player over phone lines / broadband lines. The last console I owned was a Super Nintendo (shows how much I keep up with consoles). I like consoles because of the ability to play on your TV and the portability of the system.

I guess x-box has incorporated the advantages of a PC and a console game into one unit.

My questions are in regards to the multi-player action.

1. Since there is an ethernet port on the x-box, is there any talks about being able to hook up 2 x-box's (network) or more in one house? (either directly or through a hub of some sort)

2. Can someone link me to more information about the multi-player over broadband / phone line technology of the unit?

Just curious.....thanks in advance for any responses....

speed

giddiup456
07-26-2001, 05:47 PM
yes you can hook up x-boxes to each other but im not an expert but u wuould need more then one tv and im not sure about where i could get you more info but you can definetly hook up x-boxes to each otheer and have lan games.

speedyf
07-27-2001, 09:56 AM
Thanks for the response.

Sounds good to me. I always thought that a game console with LAN type capabilities would be awesome.

I'm a big sports fanatic and enjoy playing multiple player vs multiple player games.....such as 2 player against 2 player or 4 player against 4 player football games, etc.....

It's tough to play sitting next to each other without giving away plays. Being able to hook up two machines by a long cord from room to room solves this problem.