PDA

View Full Version : ripping music



Snoopy7548
01-22-2002, 07:33 PM
i know how to rip music, and i have done it, but is there any way to name each song? because all the songs are like track 1, track 2, etc. and in games like project gotham, it would get confusing because i wouldnt know what track i wanted to put in the game

gula
01-22-2002, 07:40 PM
As soon as you click on the Soundtrack name in the dashboard, you go to Edit/Name. And then you have to pick the track you want to name, scroll over to the right, and then go to name, and you'll have to press in the name with the controller on the little on-screen keyboard.

CALzinger
01-22-2002, 08:10 PM
couldn't have said it any better

gula
01-22-2002, 08:22 PM
Originally posted by CALzinger
couldn't have said it any better

:D

addict733
01-22-2002, 08:34 PM
for some reason my soundtrack dosnt work with amped. could it be too big???/

gula
01-22-2002, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by addict733
for some reason my soundtrack dosnt work with amped. could it be too big???/

You notice the screen where it gives you the list of soundtracks? Its in options under Soundtracks. You have to highlight which soundtrack you have, and the press "X" to enable it. Once you enable it, press "A" to get out of there, it will save that. And then save the options. Once you do that, your soundtrack should be enabled.

Hugh_Jass
01-23-2002, 09:34 AM
I imagine we'll get CDDB compatibility once XBOX goes online. Then all of your songs will be automatically named.

Snoopy7548
01-23-2002, 10:35 AM
yea, i hope we do, its a pain to rename all the songs, especially when i have like 11 cds ripped on my xbox

LynxFX
01-23-2002, 12:22 PM
Are there any games that use custom soundtracks AND don't just play random songs? All I have is Amped that supports it and unfortunately it just randomly plays tracks from the soundtracks I selected. I would like it to play track 1, track 2, track 3 etc. The reason is that these are all 80 minute house or trance mixes with it broken up just to keep skipping ability.

So are there any games yet?

l Maximus l
01-23-2002, 01:07 PM
Originally posted by Lynxfx
Are there any games that use custom soundtracks AND don't just play random songs? All I have is Amped that supports it and unfortunately it just randomly plays tracks from the soundtracks I selected. I would like it to play track 1, track 2, track 3 etc. The reason is that these are all 80 minute house or trance mixes with it broken up just to keep skipping ability.

So are there any games yet?

Project Gotham Racing also allows you to rip your own music. But, I'm not positive if there is a way to play all your songs in a row. Personally, I strongly prefer that they play them in random, especially since I copy the music one entire CD at a time. (Not all the tracks, but, multiple tracks, of course).

I have Amped and PGR...and those two are the only ones that I own that I know you can play your own soundtrack. I would imagine that Tony Hawk 2X would be compatible...but, I'm not sure

LynxFX
01-23-2002, 01:17 PM
Yeah I understand the point of having them random but I wish there was an option to make them play in sequence. All of mine are seemless so when they do play random songs get cut off at the end or they start abruptly. They also lose their flow and build.

l Maximus l
01-23-2002, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by Lynxfx
Yeah I understand the point of having them random but I wish there was an option to make them play in sequence. All of mine are seemless so when they do play random songs get cut off at the end or they start abruptly. They also lose their flow and build.

Yeah, I agree that it would be nice to have the ability to play them all in a row. Perhaps you can do that in the music manager or something.

Just as an aside, did you know that if you push the white button on the controller that it will go to the next track even while you are in the middle of your game while playing Amped?

LynxFX
01-23-2002, 01:23 PM
Yeah definately like the skip feature in Amped. I use it all the time. :D

Ninja Scroll
01-23-2002, 01:25 PM
I know one thing foe sho doe yo!!
If you cant rip your own music from CD's on WWF RAW then THQ is smokin dat criiiizzzzaak kid!:eek: :confused: :eek:

gula
01-23-2002, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by Maximus

I have Amped and PGR...and those two are the only ones that I own that I know you can play your own soundtrack. I would imagine that Tony Hawk 2X would be compatible...but, I'm not sure

Yes Tony Hawk 2X is compatible, and Tony Hawk 3 will also be compatible. (Except that TH3 will just be a port.. :mad: )

Snoopy7548
01-23-2002, 05:42 PM
its pretty annoying, when playing pgr, when you like restart a race (i restart many times) and the song changes. is there any way to make it stay on the same song (kinda like in amped) because its annoying having to switch songs all the time