PDA

View Full Version : GAMESPY Help! What do I need to hook it up?



fanofslipknotib
01-26-2002, 07:06 PM
Ok, I downloaded Gamespy Arcade, and Tunnel. Here is my situation:

I have my Xbox, and my cable modem. My Cable modem is hooked up to my Ethernet card in my computer. Here is the link to what I need help from: http://www.gamespyarcade.com/support/tunnel_xbox.shtml

Near the bottom, it has options as to ways to set it up. From the info I gave you on how I have my modem hooked up, which would be best for me? PLEASE HELP!

LynxFX
01-26-2002, 07:21 PM
Buy yourself a cheap 5 port or less hub(under $50) and hook the cable modem into the uplink port on the hub then hook your computer and xbox to free ports on the hub. This should do it for the least amount of money. Then just follow the rest of the instructions.

fanofslipknotib
01-26-2002, 07:25 PM
What type of cables would I need to go from my comp to the hub, and from my xbox to the hub? And how much money do those go for?

Azazel
01-26-2002, 07:31 PM
straight through cat 5 cable..... Goes for about $3.00 for 10 ft. and I got my 25ft cable for $9.00. Or if your broke read up on how to make it yourself.

DrUnKtAnK
01-26-2002, 07:31 PM
Regular Cat5 (ethernet) cable and the cable is about $50.00 for 1000 feet...You can either make the cable your self or just buy the length you need at your local Radio shack, hardware, or pc store. It' that easy.

fanofslipknotib
01-26-2002, 07:43 PM
http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=50005979

those cables the right ones? If so, thats 5 for like 8 bucks!

clintb
01-26-2002, 08:07 PM
Yep, that's the cable you want. Only it's $7.74 for 1 terminated cable with a length of 25 feet. You'll need 3.

You could buy bulk cable, crimpers and the RJ-45 connectors, but that will cost you way more than just buying pre-terminated cables. Unless of course, you will be making many more cables in the future, or wiring up your house.

fanofslipknotib
01-26-2002, 08:50 PM
Thanks guys, but one more thing.

http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=CTLG&category%5Fname=CTLG%5F003%5F013%5F005%5F000&product%5Fid=950%2D0640

Is that a good enough hub, and will it work for me?

Also, Some other people were telling me that Cable Modem isnt good, and will lag. Is this true only if I host, or will it lag if I join someone elses?

LynxFX
01-26-2002, 09:33 PM
Yes that hub will work just fine.

Cable is fine for playing but all comes down to how many people are on your node and then upload and download caps. Most cable companies cap the up stream at 128kb which makes hosting a game with more than 4 people basically impossible, at least through gamespy. You shouldn't have a problem connecting to other people though as long as their server is good.

Look for the lowest ping and connect there.

Once the official online service comes then it might be a little more streamlined and not as bandwidth hungry as gamespy. But that is a maybe. :)

fanofslipknotib
01-26-2002, 09:45 PM
K, thanks. Also, I found a site that tests the speed of your computer, and my results gave me 1439 down, and 286 up. I suppose that is good for hosting or joining games?

Frostberg
01-26-2002, 11:37 PM
Its always better to join games if you find a good host, simply because you can join larger games...if you want to host, you might be able to get 3 other people, but better odds at 2 more people. Also you can prolly get a 2v2 game if you get a friend over...but then again speed tests arent really all that reliable so you might be able to do more or less than what I said...

fanofslipknotib
01-27-2002, 12:07 AM
Is there anything that connects two Cat5 cables together to extend it, like an extension cord or something? If so, does it have a name?