PDA

View Full Version : xbox hubs - whats a good speed???



october
12-08-2004, 08:01 PM
i'm looking to pick up a hub for some xbox link-ups but i have no idea what is a good speed or what type of specs the hub should have... :bang: ...any ideas anyone???

Reclaimer
12-08-2004, 08:29 PM
I did a system link with my Compaq 10/100 hub with 2 xboxes and it worked out fine.
Just plugged them in and went, everything was detected and ran fine.

Chaotic
12-09-2004, 08:14 AM
Just get a 10/100mbps switch. Linksys makes some nice small 5 port switches...

Xer0Mercy
12-09-2004, 06:41 PM
You can't just get a switch, can you? You need a router to distribute/process the information between Xbox's, whereas a switch only connects them together.

If you already have a router and need more ports as switch is fine, though.

Darkside
12-10-2004, 03:32 AM
a switch will work fine.

Chaotic
12-10-2004, 06:37 AM
You can't just get a switch, can you? You need a router to distribute/process the information between Xbox's, whereas a switch only connects them together.

If you already have a router and need more ports as switch is fine, though.


Not when it's between two xbox's.

LynxFX
12-10-2004, 12:45 PM
If you are only hooking up two Xboxes, then just buy a <$10 crossover cable. No need for a switch or router.

citosicarius
12-20-2004, 10:54 PM
N00B ALERT!

Okay.. that said, Here's the deal. A hub and a switch operate identically in terms of connection. Where they differ is how they handle traffic. A switch is way better than a hub any time. Both will work, but a switch will handle the traffic much better (up to 4 times better). A router is not needed as it really applies to IP traffic, which the xbox only uses for xbox LIVE services.