PDA

View Full Version : Xbox360 Vs PS3 Specs

Spaztic
05-17-2005, 10:40 AM
Nice side by side....

PS3 is more powerful and includes Blu-Ray. I wonder if it will be the same price as the Xbox360?

Link (http://ps3.ign.com/articles/614/614783p1.html)

mattgame
05-17-2005, 11:22 AM
I thought they were not going to do blue ray, and were going to use a different format. Also I'm no techie, how is the ps3 more powerful?
Another thing Sony is going to charge out of the ass for their console.

LiquidX
05-17-2005, 11:46 AM
Its more powerful on paper. Basically, it can do more calulations per second. Im wondering what the "256MB XDR @ 3.2GHz" is and how it could help with gaming.

IMO, the cell chip is hype. I dont remember readinganything from developers but I would think a new type of processor would be hard to program for until about a year or two into its use.

mattgame
05-17-2005, 11:50 AM
More calculations per second means tighter graphics and smoother gameplay?

Spaztic
05-17-2005, 12:14 PM
The big problem I see with the ps3 is that programmers haven't really used the cell chip as a processor in gaming. Yeah, it can do 2 teraflops but that is a spec Sony has provided and then they provide no info on how they got it. In any college logic class, sonys statement would be illogical.

Having a lack of experence with hardware can kill a games innovation. What good is 2 teraflops if programmers only know how to use 1/10th of it. Sony hands down has better hardware but are they going to provide programming tools that allow developers to exploit the hardware or is it going to be up to the developers to find out for themselves? Microsoft has been very upfront about creating tools that make game development easy and drive costs down during production. If Sony dosn't anwser with a solution more and more developers will be forced jump to Xbox 360.

mattgame
05-17-2005, 12:25 PM