PDA

View Full Version : Bots In Halo



cyclaud
02-18-2002, 03:16 PM
i hope everyone has acknowledged that there should be bots in halo. No one knows the true reason why they arent because if they did say why it would be bull****. MY friend claims they cant because he says the AI wouldnt be fair, it would just wait for u behind a rock or something. I think he is wrong what do u say?

E-Xbox
02-18-2002, 03:20 PM
hey
they could have put them in...
i do not know the real reason they didnt,
but if there is a sequel there will most likely have bots
they could have thought it was too much work...too little time...or a combination of those or other things
either way the game is stellar and is fun online....
playing on the net is way better than bots...except the lil lag

lata

Virazslo
02-18-2002, 03:40 PM
probably not enough time, I would love bots too. I heard they are comin out with Halo 1.5 or something, and it will have bots and better online play. If this is true, I also hope that you can pick to drive a Banshee! 4 player Banshee FFA would be SWEET!

E-Xbox
02-18-2002, 04:00 PM
no...they already said there will bo no
HALO 1.5
so there goes that...hhee...
there will be a sequel tho
lata

l Maximus l
02-18-2002, 04:09 PM
Dude, Halo on Gamespy is sweet! No need for bots if you have this. I can't wait to check out Halo tomorrow on my brand new HDTV! :D

cyclaud
02-18-2002, 05:02 PM
Who released info on halo 1.5. it is just a rumor but that will be the only, official way for halo can go online. it is also said to add a crapload of multiplayer stuff:)

l Maximus l
02-18-2002, 05:08 PM
Originally posted by cyclaud
Who released info on halo 1.5. it is just a rumor but that is the only official way halo can go online. it is also said to add a crapload of multiplayer stuff:)

Not sure, but, we will see what happens :) Most likely, this summer.

No Fear 23
02-18-2002, 08:42 PM
as a new xbox fan, i know i may sound retarded asking this question. what the hell is bots??

cyclaud
02-18-2002, 08:50 PM
Bots r the AI in multiplayer matchs(the people that try to kill u) . They r called that and as in other games such as unreal, golden eye, serious sam etc.:D

Plewis
02-18-2002, 10:43 PM
this is a little off subject but Maximus you said that there will be no chance of lag on the microsoft multiplayer system... why is that?

animo47
02-19-2002, 01:28 PM
Cyclaud is completely wrong! think about having grunts in oh lets say blood gulch, could you imagine. it would be too much like single player. and that would suck.

DT21
02-19-2002, 04:59 PM
Originally posted by Maximus
Dude, Halo on Gamespy is sweet! No need for bots if you have this. I can't wait to check out Halo tomorrow on my brand new HDTV! :D
**** you!!!!!:) On the bright side, when I take you on, you'll be able to see your dead Halo guy clearer:).

monkeyman
02-19-2002, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by Maximus
Dude, Halo on Gamespy is sweet! No need for bots if you have this. I can't wait to check out Halo tomorrow on my brand new HDTV! :D


hey dont go bragging about it ahhhhhhh

:(god i need msn broadband to come to my area now ****** nowwwwww

Plewis
02-19-2002, 09:37 PM
Originally posted by animo47
Cyclaud is completely wrong! think about having grunts in oh lets say blood gulch, could you imagine. it would be too much like single player. and that would suck.

I'll be nice since you are new:) . Bots would not be grunts, they would people fellow master chiefs it would be like playing a buddy but it is the computer.

JJaX
02-20-2002, 10:37 AM
A bot simulates another human player. They have all the same abilty as you and can only do things you can do. They are limited in everyway just like you. Bots can also be programmed to play team games and ctf via nav points. Bots can be told to camp, cover, and defend (any role any one can do). If you wanna know what a bot is play:

Unreal tournament

I feel these bots do the best to act like a human if tweaked properly.

The reason bots are not in halo is because there wasnt enough time. Halo 1.5 is just a prayer as of now. Im pretty sure bungies man focus is on Halo 2 and Halo PC release.

animo47
02-20-2002, 11:40 AM
If you take a look at halo you will realize that the elites and master chief are the same thing, only with different skins. i understand why Bungie didnt put bots in, there were actually two reasons 1. not enough time as you said 2. not enough space to add an entirely new system of AI. you see Bots in halo would be great i just think that they couldnt be put in the original game due to the amount of space on the disc, in other words they didnt want to sacrafice a level or two just to have bots. and in my own opinion bots would suck anyway, humans are more fun.

cyclaud
02-20-2002, 05:06 PM
Animo47 is disagreeing because HE IS THE FRIEND WHO SAYS THIS BULL**** ABOUT BOTS.:mad:

animo47
02-20-2002, 05:40 PM
you will all see when bungie makes the mistake of putting bots in halo 1.5. then u will all bow to your master!

P.S. i know where you live cyclaud. nad now everyone will know about you batman pj's!

Plewis
02-20-2002, 05:55 PM
i bet you can really tell the future there buddy;) we tried to be nice to ya then you got all mad and flammed us when you were wrong. so you should probably admit defeat and stop flamming. THat wont make you friends in the forum:cool:

ShannonX
02-20-2002, 06:04 PM
First off, the guys over at Bungie already stated that Halo 1.5 doesn't exist on anything other than somebodies brain. They said something along the lines of it would be nice and theres always the possibility, but there isn't anything in the works right now. We can always hope that the next installment of Halo will have all the missing features that make FPS's so fun.

and enough bickering already. Just have fun on the boards.

cyclaud
02-20-2002, 07:42 PM
YEAH VINNY:mad:

monkeyman
02-20-2002, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by animo47
you will all see when bungie makes the mistake of putting bots in halo 1.5. then u will all bow to your master!



there isnt a halo 1.5

imagine if they had bots playing halo on legendary with it ahhhhhh crazy hard