PDA

View Full Version : Ok, so what do i need?



JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:10 PM
Alright...everyone i've been saving up my money and im planning to buy something but i don't know what i need to play online? I have a 20" TV in my comp room now(FINALLY)...and my xbox...and a cable modem...now what do i need? also, do i need to get a cable to hook up to the back of my xbox? im sooo close to playing on line:D ..but i don't know where to go to get the things i need..can someone help?

p.s. sorry if someone has posted this already

xboxmaster2002
03-17-2002, 07:13 PM
do you mean for gamespy or the official online launch

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:14 PM
for gamespy...i need to save money for the real thing though

xboxmaster2002
03-17-2002, 07:14 PM
heres the game spy stuff

http://www.gamespyarcade.com/support/tunnel_xbox.shtml

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:16 PM
thanks, xboxmaster! :)

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:20 PM
you have to pay to play online HALO? once i download the spy tunnel...it asks what the network adapter is...whats that?

xboxmaster2002
03-17-2002, 07:47 PM
I think thats your cable modem or your network card

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:50 PM
lol..i don't think i'll ever get this :( there are so many ways to configure how to hook up the xbox on the internet...its frying my brain! :eek:

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 07:59 PM
im computer illiterate, so i don't know what they're talking about when i need an uplink, hub, etc...i guess i'll never play halo online :(

scoomey
03-17-2002, 08:33 PM
you need a hub. and 2 rj45 cables. its really easy. also need to download the gamespy software.

JADE8704
03-17-2002, 08:47 PM
how much does a hub and 2 of those cables cost? and where can i get them?/ btw..thanks scoomey :)

Hugh_Jass
03-18-2002, 08:52 AM
You can get the hub just about anywhere they sell computer supplies. It's standard gear.

Just ask for an Ethernet networking hub. Get the cheapest one they have. I've seen them under $10 but typically you can expect to pay about $30.

Then ask for CAT5 cable. That stuff is pretty cheap, too.

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 12:14 PM
how many cat 5 cables do i need? and thanks alot hugh jass...i'll probably get to play halo online soon...hopefully:(

JJaX
03-18-2002, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by JADE8704
how many cat 5 cables do i need? and thanks alot hugh jass...i'll probably get to play halo online soon...hopefully:(


Comp>cat5>hub>cat5>xbox

2 cat5 wires for 1 xbox

add 1 cat5 wire for every other xbox you wanna network by pluggin into the hub.

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 12:22 PM
thanks jjax! :) i'll probably go to best buy after lunch so i can get started on hooking up my xbox to my comp!

JJaX
03-18-2002, 12:47 PM
JADE WAIT!!!


You probaly already have a small cat5 wire running from your cable modem to your computer already. So all you really need to purchase is 1 cat 5 wire.

Sorry if this didnt get to you in time :(

Exatox
03-18-2002, 12:49 PM
Could be a USB cable modem

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 12:55 PM
thanks for the heads up jjax:)...good thing i came back to check on XBA..how do i know if its a usb modem?? its a standard cable motorola cable modem that came standard when i bought high-speed internet

JJaX
03-18-2002, 12:59 PM
Pull out the wire you currently have hooking your cable modem to your computer.

http://www.tcstx.com/images/Articles/Cat-5%20diagram.gif

Do the colors match the diagram? If yes then you dont have a USB modem.

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 01:04 PM
the blue wire is in the middle..but everything else looks the same:confused:

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 01:05 PM
its not connected to the usb port on the back of my comp if thats what ur asking :)

JJaX
03-18-2002, 01:07 PM
Just pick up some a cat 5 wire and hook it up.

Im a bit slow about this stuff. SO confirm with someone like Maximus or Hugh_jass.

But im pretty sure your ready to go!

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 01:10 PM
alright...thanks alot man :D

JJaX
03-18-2002, 01:12 PM
Any time :)

l Maximus l
03-18-2002, 07:26 PM
Jade...here is what you do to get everything completed. I'll walk you through this:

Here is what you need:

1. A total of three standard Category 5 Patch cables (not CAT 5 Crossovers...they won't work).

2. You need one 10/100 HUB or Switch. Four port is all you need.

3. Broadband internet access (you already have this, as you mentioned).

4. Finally, download the free "Gamespy Arcade Software" and "Gamespy Tunnel Software". Just go to this link: http://www.gamespyarcade.com/support/tunnel_xbox.shtml


Here's how you physically hook everthing up:

1. Plug your first CAT 5 Patch cable into your Broadband Modem. Plug the other end of this cable into the port labeled "uplink" on the HUB.

2. Take a second CAT 5 Patch cable and plug it into Port 1 on the HUB and plug the other end into the back of your Computer into the Ethernet Port (it's the only port that it can possibly plug into). Now, you have internet access again.

3. Finally, take the last CAT 5 Patch cable and plug it into Port 2 on your HUB and plug the other end into the back of your XBox.

That's it!! Let me know if you have any other questions! :)

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 07:32 PM
hey thanks alot max..and everyone else who helped me! :) i'm gonna have to save up more money(because i couldn't wait and so i bought a new game instead :D )...but thanks anyways..i'll probably have enough by the end of the week ;)

l Maximus l
03-18-2002, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by JADE8704
hey thanks alot max..and everyone else who helped me! :) i'm gonna have to save up more money(because i couldn't wait and so i bought a new game instead :D )...but thanks anyways..i'll probably have enough by the end of the week ;)

Great! Which game did you get?

By the way, once you get on-line and play Halo, you won't want to buy a new game for a long time! It will occupy you for several months! So, in a way, you can save a lot of money! :D I'm actually not joking! Halo while on-line is utterly amazing!!!

You can ask practically anyone that are regulars that are on this site...like: Xtopia, Ty, fanofslipknot, Brevity, E-XBox, and many others. I mentioned them because I play with them once in a while :D

JADE8704
03-18-2002, 08:04 PM
well, all the hype about RSC got to me and so i bought it today at target...THIS GAME IS AWESOME! it's probably better than PGR graphics-wise IMO...the landscape looks beautiful, and so do the cars! i can't wait to see more xbox games that take advantage of the xbox hardware like RSC does! :D