PDA

View Full Version : Why wont my clock settings stay!!!!!!!!!



Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:07 PM
nearly every time i turn on my xbox i have to set the clock because the settings are lost!!!!!!!! why is this happening?

Spaztic
03-20-2002, 06:09 PM
If you unplug the xbox it dumps its memory! if the xbox is still plugged in and you loose you time settings....you are probably having a memory problem and need to get the xbox replaced.

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:10 PM
oh, i always unplug it... but when i had the ps2 and dreamcast they never lost their time unplugged or not.

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:11 PM
doesn't it have battery backup????????

Xbox Owner
03-20-2002, 06:16 PM
Mine seems to work fine? I'm not sure what the problem is, sorry:(

E-Xbox
03-20-2002, 06:16 PM
yo sick...depends how long its unplugged for
if its unplugged for a few hours...than yes...
but less than a few hours...it doesnt reset...

i dunno what the exact time is...

but oh well

peace

Plewis
03-20-2002, 06:19 PM
it wont dump all ur gamesaves will it:confused:

GokuX
03-20-2002, 06:22 PM
No, it won't erase gamesaves since those are stored on the hard drive.

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:22 PM
i must say, thats ****ed!!!! its friggen annoying setting the clock all the time, if the dreamcast could hold it time for two months without losing it, a few hours is pathetic. what were microsoft to scared people would think its a computer by having a working clock????

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:25 PM
and another complaint, why doesnt the opening movie in rallisport work properly!!! it stutters and slows down, is my disk faulty. ive heard someone else complain about the same problem.

i found it work ok on 60hz, but on 50hz it did it to the point i couldnt watch it.

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:26 PM
wont it damage the xbox leaving it plugged in???

Batman2372
03-20-2002, 06:33 PM
About the same as if you left your vacuum cleaner plugged in all day...

No.... just because something is plugged into the socket doesn't mean there's a connection being made. You can leave it plugged in 24/7 and not a thing will happen to it. You don't unplug your TV every time you stop watching it, do you?

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 06:38 PM
well, i found with other systems that when i left them plugged in, they felt warm.

Snoopy7548
03-20-2002, 08:23 PM
does the clock really matter that much?

Dont_Shoot
03-20-2002, 08:34 PM
well, i found with other systems that when i left them plugged in, they felt warm.


I wouldnt worry. PC, DVD, Video players are able to run 24/7. Aslong as your XBox has plenty of ventalation and the ambit temp is low I doubt the XBox will ever overheat.

If you are worried about the clock the best thing to do is call up MS tech support and ask them how long the clock setting should last.

Dont Shoot

Afro Aura
03-20-2002, 09:56 PM
Originally posted by Sickplaya
and another complaint, why doesnt the opening movie in rallisport work properly!!! it stutters and slows down, is my disk faulty. ive heard someone else complain about the same problem.

i found it work ok on 60hz, but on 50hz it did it to the point i couldnt watch it.
it's funny that because I've just found out that you have to play Halo in 50hz to stop it stuttering oh well at least I've got a full screen, I want to know why didn't they optimise this game

Sickplaya
03-20-2002, 11:51 PM
Arent the stuttering problems in halo due to slowdown, the stuttering in rsc are because its faulty.

Crazy Joe
03-20-2002, 11:56 PM
Originally posted by GASMAN
YOU PEOPLE ARE SO STUPID!
I don't even have to explain why.

you are not a very nice person

Afro Aura
03-21-2002, 06:45 AM
Originally posted by Sickplaya
Arent the stuttering problems in halo due to slowdown, the stuttering in rsc are because its faulty.
Not really mate I've got a US XBOX and a US Halo and it's fine I don't mind the slowdown when things get to hot, but with my PAL XBOX and the PAL Halo the stuttering starts as soon as the game begins

Muabdi'b
03-21-2002, 07:19 AM
if you unplug the Xbox, it will lose the clock. It needs constant power. Other consoles have a lithium battery, the Xbox does not

hybridmatrix
03-21-2002, 07:47 AM
I have gathered that the video is compressed using Bink (used a lot for pc games), at 30 fps. So in NTSC or PAL60 it will play back fine but for PAL50 the frame rate has to be reduced to 25 fps, obviously this is too much for the CPU (?) to handle, and causes the slow down.

HybridMATRiX

Afro Aura
03-21-2002, 08:12 AM
Originally posted by GASMAN
YOU PEOPLE ARE SO STUPID!
I don't even have to explain why.
Why are we stupid, there are no silly question here if someone wants an answer to his question isnt it best to ask or just suffer with ignorance
In looking into the manual it does not say that the time will be kept so I feel this is a sensible question

GokuX
03-21-2002, 08:25 AM
The comment by Gasman reminds me of the IGN boards. We don't need that trash here. You come into a thread where a question is being asked, and instead of contributing anything useful, U make a lame comment. Maybe U need to shell out $20 and go back to the IGN boards and stay away from here if you're gonna be a fool.

Spaztic
03-21-2002, 01:03 PM
YOU PEOPLE ARE SO STUPID!

and your name is gasman!

oh yeah found a link that explains the problem
http://www.gameswire.com/News.asp