Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: jaggies

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    211

    Default jaggies

    When playing on a widescreen tv the picture gets sligthly more jagged.... is there anthing that you could do about this?
    i use the advanced scart cable.... i do have an svideo connection.
    help pls!

    i might just be to picky.....
    DenniZ
    http://www.pcvsconsole.com/images/hank/burnut.jpg

  2. #2

    Default

    Try turning down the sharpness on the tv. It usually helps.

    -Cynical Gamer
    Gamers should expect more from games or the quality of games will decrease. Unfortunately graphics sell..

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Birmingham, England, UK
    Posts
    818

    Default Re: jaggies

    Originally posted by DenniZz81
    When playing on a widescreen tv the picture gets sligthly more jagged.... is there anthing that you could do about this?
    i use the advanced scart cable.... i do have an svideo connection.
    help pls!

    i might just be to picky.....
    Hey dude theres nothing wrong being picky.
    Sorry about the "Jaggies" I only see jaggies in Rallisport Challenge everything else is cool, don't change for SCART to S-Video as the SCART will give you an RGB picture, I dont think you can do anything about that, the only way is to REALLY down grade your picture into Composite aaagggrrrhh I don't think you'll see them after that, but I'm not sure as I'm never going to go down to that level of picture, or follow the information that Cynical Gamer said turn the Sharpness down

    And Welcome Cynical Gamer it's nice to know your here to give some good advice, enjoy your stay mate
    Last edited by Afro Aura; 03-24-2002 at 07:41 AM.

  4. #4
    Take No Tea Hugh_Jass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Use "Video Essentials", "DVD Platinum", or another television calibration system to ensure your HDTV is setup correctly.

    I agree with those that have already responded. Most people have their sharpness set too high, which artificially CREATES jaggies that aren't in the original signal.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    211

    Default

    lower the sharpness... ok i will try it. But i thought jaggies were unavoidable beacause the image gets stretched...on a widescreen. but maybe i was wrong

    i have a sharp "32" flatscreen 100hz widescreen.
    DenniZ
    http://www.pcvsconsole.com/images/hank/burnut.jpg

  6. #6
    Home Theatre Guru LynxFX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LynxFX Film Studios
    Posts
    4,201

    Default

    Remember that 90% of Xbox games are not widescreen enhanced so stretching the image to fill a 16x9 screen will create bigger jaggies than on a 4x3 screen.
    Hidden Content quality="high"pluginspage="Hidden Content type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="150"height="125">
    ---Hidden Content ---

  7. #7
    GO SEAHAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! l Maximus l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    15,942

    Default

    Lynxfx and Hugh_Jass make excellent points. But, I would also like to add that the games are only in 480p...just wait until we see 1080i !! To jaggies I say: "Tootles!"

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Originally posted by Maximus
    Lynxfx and Hugh_Jass make excellent points. But, I would also like to add that the games are only in 480p...just wait until we see 1080i !! To jaggies I say: "Tootles!"
    hmmm... can i play those higher resolutions on my widescreen?
    is hdtv and widescreen the same thing?
    DenniZ
    http://www.pcvsconsole.com/images/hank/burnut.jpg

  9. #9
    Take No Tea Hugh_Jass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Originally posted by DenniZz81


    hmmm... can i play those higher resolutions on my widescreen?
    is hdtv and widescreen the same thing?

    Widescreen can mean anything these days. It can mean a really big television (a.k.a., Big Screen) or a television with a 16x9 aspect ratio.

    In any case, widescreen does not necessarily mean HDTV.
    Last edited by Hugh_Jass; 03-26-2002 at 11:41 AM.

  10. #10
    GO SEAHAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! l Maximus l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    15,942

    Default

    Originally posted by DenniZz81


    hmmm... can i play those higher resolutions on my widescreen?
    is hdtv and widescreen the same thing?
    If your TV is an HDTV, it should be able to produce a resolution of 1080i, 720p, and 480p. Right now, there are no XBox games that support anything higher than 480p...not yet! But, when they do, you won't see any more jaggies, that's for sure!

    Also, it's important to set your XBox settings on "yes" for 480p. That should improve it if it's not done already

  11. #11
    ULTRA VIOLENCE! DOOM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Brooklyn N.Y.
    Posts
    798

    Default

    LOL, You Wana See JaGgIes Check Out Virtual Fighter 4, OMG!!!
    LOL!!!
    Hidden Content ULTRA-VIOLENCE!

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Birmingham, England, UK
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Originally posted by DOOM
    LOL, You Wana See JaGgIes Check Out Virtual Fighter 4, OMG!!!
    LOL!!!
    I've been there and played it on the PS2 and I have to say it is a disgrace to the BEST beat 'em up ever, I hope Sega do a fanastic job on the VF4.1 for the XBOX

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Originally posted by Maximus


    If your TV is an HDTV, it should be able to produce a resolution of 1080i, 720p, and 480p. Right now, there are no XBox games that support anything higher than 480p...not yet! But, when they do, you won't see any more jaggies, that's for sure!

    Also, it's important to set your XBox settings on "yes" for 480p. That should improve it if it's not done already
    there is no such thing under video....

    Letterbox, widescreen, normal
    and there is a box that asks you if your tv supports 60fps.
    DenniZ
    http://www.pcvsconsole.com/images/hank/burnut.jpg

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    211

    Default

    i dont know the jaggies is not big at all.... but i sure can see them... i dont know
    maybe I´ll switch back to a regular tv...
    DenniZ
    http://www.pcvsconsole.com/images/hank/burnut.jpg

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    167

    Default

    where can I get Video Essentials or DVD Platinum?
    Neo... Follow the white chicken....knock knock

    Hidden Content

  16. #16
    Ya Stand Meh!!?!?!!111 JJaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Dirty Jerzee
    Posts
    5,725

    Default

    My pointless response
    WE SHOULD KILL ALL THE DAM JAGGIES!!!!!!!!!!!

    R.I.P.DZ
    Hidden Content

  17. #17
    Take No Tea Hugh_Jass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,197

    Default

    Originally posted by El Pollo Loco
    where can I get Video Essentials or DVD Platinum?
    Ultimate DVD: Platinum

    Video Essentials

  18. #18
    GO SEAHAWKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! l Maximus l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    15,942

    Default

    Originally posted by Hugh_Jass


    Ultimate DVD: Platinum

    Video Essentials
    Hey, Hugh...does Video Essentials calibrate an HDTV? Because, I need to do this to mine

  19. #19
    Home Theatre Guru LynxFX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    LynxFX Film Studios
    Posts
    4,201

    Default

    Yeah Max, that is the one I was telling you about when you got your new set. Video Essentials or AVIA. AVIA being more user friendly. VE has a mess of a menu system but both let you calibrate both your tv and your sound system.
    Hidden Content quality="high"pluginspage="Hidden Content type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="150"height="125">
    ---Hidden Content ---

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •